The Workhouse was originally opened in 1845 and closed in 1922. It lay vacant for a long time but was re-opened in 1995 as a heritage centre.
It has been run since then by a Voluntary Board of Management as a not for profit charitable organisation.
Life in the Workhouse is explained on an audio tape and supported by a model of the original Workhouse and story boards explaining the rules, the diet and the hard life of the paupers living there. It is a fascinating insight into rural Ireland in the 1800’s.